Facebook: W‌e‌’‌v‌e‌ d‌e‌t‌e‌c‌t‌e‌d‌ u‌n‌u‌s‌u‌a‌l‌ a‌c‌t‌i‌v‌i‌t‌y‌ a‌n‌d‌ c‌o‌p‌y‌r‌i‌g‌h‌t‌ ‌i‌n‌f‌r‌i‌n‌g‌e‌m‌e‌n‌t‌ o‌n‌ y‌o‌u‌r‌ pa‌g‌e‌

I manage the Facebook pages for several clients and a few weeks ago, I noticed a massive influx of spam messages that say really frightening things, where the sender claims to be working for Facebook/Meta and sends a message to the Facebook page’s inbox saying that the Facebook page is going to be deleted, blocked, or disabled. It usually goes something like this:

Hello! W‌e‌’‌v‌e‌ d‌e‌t‌e‌c‌t‌e‌d‌ u‌n‌u‌s‌u‌a‌l‌ a‌c‌t‌i‌v‌i‌t‌y‌ a‌n‌d‌ c‌o‌p‌y‌r‌i‌g‌h‌t‌ ‌i‌n‌f‌r‌i‌n‌g‌e‌m‌e‌n‌t‌ o‌n‌ y‌o‌u‌r‌ P‌a‌g‌e‌ t‌h‌a‌t‌ g‌o‌e‌s‌ a‌g‌a‌i‌n‌s‌t‌ t‌h‌e‌ M‌e‌t‌a‌ C‌o‌m‌m‌u‌n‌i‌t‌y‌ S‌t‌a‌n‌d‌a‌r‌d‌s‌.‌ ‌
•‌C‌o‌n‌f‌i‌r‌m‌ y‌o‌u‌r‌ a‌c‌c‌o‌u‌n‌t‌ w‌i‌t‌h‌i‌n‌ t‌h‌e‌ n‌e‌x‌t‌ 2‌4‌ h‌o‌u‌r‌s‌ o‌t‌h‌e‌r‌w‌i‌s‌e‌ o‌u‌r‌ y‌o‌u‌r‌ P‌a‌g‌e‌ m‌a‌y‌ b‌e‌ p‌e‌r‌m‌a‌n‌e‌n‌t‌l‌y‌ d‌i‌s‌a‌b‌l‌e‌d‌.‌
N‌a‌m‌e‌ P‌a‌g‌e‌:‌ (Business Name)
A‌‌‌c‌‌‌c‌‌‌o‌‌‌u‌‌‌n‌‌‌t‌‌‌ C‌‌‌o‌‌‌n‌‌‌f‌‌‌i‌‌‌r‌‌‌m‌‌‌a‌‌‌t‌‌‌i‌‌‌o‌‌‌n‌‌‌:‌‌‌ ‌‌ https://www.facebook.com/122099411474058152‌
M‌‌‌e‌‌‌t‌‌‌a‌‌‌ T‌‌‌e‌‌‌a‌‌‌m‌‌‌.‌‌‌‌‌‌

Often, the sender will be listed as one of the following:

  • Trademark Review
  • Trademark Property
  • Facebook user
  • Meta Team
  • Meta Security Team

This is a weird, terrifying message to get because they’re accusing you of the crime of “copyright infringement” and threatening to permanently disable your Facebook page in 24 hours.

So what’s the deal with all of these messages? Why have I started seeing so many of these recently? I don’t know, but if you’re getting messages like these: RELAX! These are totally fake and you can completely ignore them.

These are not being sent by Facebook/Meta, your page is not about to be disabled, and you can just press the “report spam” button and ignore it forever. Yep, it’s just that simple.

Example #1: “Trademark Property”

Great news: this is fake – delete it!

Example #2: “Trademark Review”

This is fake too – delete it!

Example #3: “Facebook User”

This is also fake – delete it and do the happy dance!

A lot of these messages have some giveaways that tell you that they’re fake, such as the following:

  • They say “Name Page” instead of “Page Name” and “ID Page” instead of “Page ID” – a classic example of grammatical errors common with spammers.
  • It’s not actually coming as a notification in the notification section, but in the inbox as a “message” — Facebook generally wouldn’t do this.
  • It’s asking you to click on a strange-looking link.
  • It has slightly weird capitalization/spacing, etc.
  • It’s coming from a weird sender. (Who the heck is “Facebook user” anyway?)

So, again, long story short, if you get these messages just delete them by marking them as spam, and go about your day!

If you found this helpful, let me know!